As a charity, we have a volunteer board of trustees who bring their own individual areas of expertise to benefit the organisation. The current board comprises: Derek Lum (Chair); Irena Sobolewska (Vice-Chair); Tony Aston,  Anna Krauss and Ruth Houghton. Among the many skills they have are: financial management; charity governance; staff development; performance management; local government, disability service development and adult social care.

In 2019, our founder and former trustee Donna Werner was named our honorary president.

Tony Aston

Tony became a member of the Bethphage Board in 2015. He retired as Sales Director of a commercial kitchen manufacturing company at the end of 2014, having spent 40 years in the sales and marketing environment.
As well as his participation in Bethphage, he enjoys playing golf and travelling.

Ruth Houghton

Ruth Houghton was born and educated in Shropshire and has lived here for most of her life. Ruth retired in December 2016 from a successful career in adult social care at Shropshire Council where her responsibilities included commissioning services for adults with learning disabilities and developing supported living services throughout the County. Ruth has a BA in Business Administration and an MA in Gerontology. Since retiring, Ruth enjoys travelling, undertaking voluntary work in her local community and serving as a local councillor.

Anna Krauss

Anna is the General Secretary responsible for the day-to-day management of the Council of Lutheran Churches in Great Britain (

She grew up in Bavaria, Germany and has a PhD in Protestant Theology studying in Germany and Scotland. She worked as a researcher at Heidelberg and Oxford Universities and has extensive experience of collaboration and co-ordination of both voluntary and academic organisations and research projects.

Anna Krauss
Derek Lum


Derek joined the Bethphage board in 2002, becoming Chair in 2004. With a degree in Mechanical Engineering Derek has over 35 years’ experience in industry and commerce as a director of private and public listed companies including Managing Director and Group Finance Director roles.


Irena Sobolewska

Irena joined the Bethphage board in 2001, becoming Vice-chair in 2004. With a Masters in Business Administration, Irena has over 30 years’ experience in the private, public and not for profit sectors as a leadership coach and organisational change consultant. Having sold her business in 2013, Irena now spends her time volunteering for Bethphage, the European Mentoring and Coaching Council (where she is International Vice-President of Operations) and other organisations.

Honorary President- Donna Werner

Donna established Bethphage in 1994 having travelled from Bethphage (now Mosaic) in the US to undertake preliminary studies with Shropshire Health and Social Services on the provision of transition services for people then living in long stay hospitals.

In 2019, on our 25th birthday, Donna was named honorary president. Donna brings outstanding commitment to the mission, vision and values of Bethphage. She has a wealth of experience having been both CEO of Bethphage and later, from 2004 to 2016, serving as a trustee. In addition to her work with Bethphage, Donna was Senior Vice President of Advocacy for Mosaic in Omaha.


Photography courses for adults with special needs and learning disabilities in Shrewsbury

“People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible and in their best interests.”

CQC Inspection

Head Office

(Registered Address)

8 Longbow Close
Harlescott Lane

Tel: 01743 272880

North Shropshire Area Office

The Hollies
Chester Road
SY13 1LZ

Tel: 01948 804901

West Midlands Office

The Hub
17 Lichfield Street

Tel: 01922 660813

Telford Area Office

Park Lane Centre

Tel: 01952 457382

Font Resize